For the Next Time You Claim to be a Feminist

strong-woman

My entire college career I was made fun of for claiming to not be a feminist. Now before you blow up my inbox… listen to what I have to say. I believe woman deserve to be equally valued and to have equal opportunity. I believe that women are strong, independent, worthy of more credit than the world ever gives them, and beautiful creatures designed by a God who has a purpose for them.

However, I still do not claim to be a feminist. Because I believe that men are valuable. I believe that men have a purpose hand-chosen by a God who designed them. I believe that men play a role in society that we could not live without. I believe in traditional values, but I also believe that politeness and chivalry should go both ways.

I guess that makes me an equalist.

I don’t feel the need to single women out as the only ones who deserve rights of an equal sort. I believe that men, women, blacks, whites, heterosexuals, homosexuals, disable individuals, the police officers, the government officials, the cashiers, the impoverished, and the wealthy all deserve the same opportunities and the same value. We are all equally loved and valued by a God who took the equal amount of time to create our timelines and our plot twists. So why are you a feminist? Isn’t there a bigger fight to fight?

image1

I have friends who identify as feminists. However, those friends, and others who hear that I do not consider myself a feminist immediately treat me like I am lesser than them. And this is why I won’t change my label. My opinions and my lifestyle are constantly devalued or degraded simply by a label that I choose not to have put on me.

Now I will admit that I am a female who grew up in a decent part of Knoxville, TN, and with parents who love me and each other dearly. This means that by society’s standards I am middle or upper class, and therefore people like to think I don’t understand oppression or the value of a dollar. Because I grew up with a close relationship with my father, and because I tend to have conservative points of view, I am usually written off as naïve and inexperienced. Because I have been a Christian my entire life and I try to be a rule follower I am considered a goody-two-shoes. And because I am a girl who enjoys nail polish and my favorite color is pink I am usually considered a girly girl who wouldn’t understand the first thing about hard work or strength.

But these people are wrong.

image2

 

I have had a part-time or full-time job since I was 13 years old. I financially supported myself for both living expenses and school expenses as I maintained a 3.5 or better GPA through my state’s flagship school. I was the first in my immediate family to graduate from a 4 degree program. And my next adventure is to attempt to thru hike the Appalachian Trail.

I am independent. I am strong. I am smart. I am valuable.  I am beautiful.

And my opinion matters just as much as anyone else’s does.

image3

So I would encourage you to take a moment and take off your labels. Have a conversation with someone and actually listen to what they have to say. Spend some time with a community who challenges you. Because your opinion matters, but so does the people’s around you.

– Sarah

Feel free to tell me what you think. I read every comment!